Sign Language (Continued)

Development, Local Universe, Projects, Sketchbook

After walking around the Aldgate area and photographing signs, we were tasked within the studio to pick one of the signs that doesn’t work well and design a proposal for a new one. The sign I chose to improve was Moon Light, an indian restaurant right at start of Brick Lane after turning off the corner of Whitechapel High Street. I personally didn’t like the sign as I felt there was an imbalance of white space, the red cauldron like symbol was unclear but I assumed it was a pot and the blue in combination with the red just made the sign look cheap. I did however like the typeface used for the words ‘Moon Light’ as they seemed to suggest exoticism and almost set an atmosphere for the restaurant as a whole. I also thought that the use of the crescent moon worked well in almost romanticising the cuisine.

Starting to tackle the sign, I decided to pick it apart as I thought that was the best way into the brief – so I started with the moon. I liked the idea of playing with the phases of the moon as aesthetically it would fit the ratio of the original sign and in a way saying the name without the use of words. I wanted to keep the original colours of the sign as red and blue in any shade are particularly strong colours and relate well to the context of the sign belonging to an Indian restaurant. I just wasn’t sure if i wanted to use both red and blue together.

Thinking about the phases of the moon

I soon realised I was getting carried away with the idea of using imagery to “spell out” the name of the shop and forgot about what kind of shop the sign was for,  so I approached an aspect of the original I disliked. The burning red cauldron-pot. I played around with different ideas of exotic looking pots by researching and scribbling them simply to communicate effectively.

Exotic Pot Illustration

Exotic Pot Illustration

Combining the pot experiments with the initial phases of the moon idea

Combined with the strong bold red and the idea of the phases of the moon, I was pleased with my overall outcome. I see the new design as clearly and effectively communicating an Indian restaurant with an exotic tone.

Combining all the elementsof my new shop sign design in order to create an effective sign without words

Combining all the elementsof my new shop sign design in order to create an effective sign without words

New shop sign design. Simple. Bold. Effective.

New shop sign design. Simple. Bold. Effective.

Leave a Reply

