Painting The Paddle

Creative Industry Practice, Development

Thoughtfully designing and planning my idea for my ping pong paddle, I was finally ready to begin the real thing on a stripped, sanded and primed (with gesso) paddle. I then proceeded to use my materials to draw and paint my design onto the paddle, taking extra care not to smudge the paint or leave fingerprints whilst the paint was still drying. I used a flow medium to help control the fluidity of the heavy body acrylic paints I was using as well as a fineliner to put in the details of the pinecone I was drawing from. Only one problem arose when painting the paddle was that the white acrylic paint, I used for the front of the paddle where the whole of the pinecone is seen, kept on getting dirty and turning grey. I resolved the problem by using a white waterbased acrylic marker pen that covered it up very well and left a much smoother and lighter finish overall.

Paddle before priming and sanding

Paddle before priming and sanding

Drawing the pinecone onto the paddle using a fineliner

Drawing the pinecone onto the paddle using a fineliner

After priming and using fineline pens and acrylic paint to paint close up of pinecone onto the paddle

After priming and using fineline pens and acrylic paint to paint close up of pinecone onto the paddle

Finishing the front of the paddle and painting the handle

Finishing the front of the paddle and painting the handle

Painting two colours on the handle was difficult but using masking tape helped me get a neat edge between colours

Painting two colours on the handle was difficult but using masking tape helped me get a neat edge between colours

Leave a Reply

