Mapping Surveillance

Critical and Contextual Studies, Development

Having thought for a while about what I want to write about for the first CCS miniblock, in which we were asked to make an alternative souvenir, I finally settled on making an alternative tourist map that points out all the forms of surveillance on my route from home to university as opposed to landmarks. After reading the ‘Objects of Desire’ chapter of Susan Stewart’s book, what makes my souvenir alternative is that it represents an aspect of my every day life that is easily repeated (the route on the map) and at the same time incredibly overlooked (the cameras). Something conventional souvenirs don’t do.

Counting all the surveillance on my route before making the map

Counting all the surveillance on my route before making the map

Planning my alternative souvenir before making

Planning my alternative souvenir before making

As tedious as it was to draw and cut out and put together it was a lot of fun to think about conceptually and make. The bright colours and elevated cameras, informed by the works of Chris Kenny and Paula Scher, say a lot about CCTV, the many people they capture and also the excessive number of them in small spaces. It was definitely an eye-opening project that has now made me feel like i’m forever being watched!

The final assembled souvenir

The final assembled souvenir

One thought on “Mapping Surveillance

Leave a Reply

