Photo: http://www.carnovsky.com/RGB.htm

Carnovsky – RGB

Development, Local Universe, Sketchbook, Visual Research

Despite my botanical illustrations being quite effectively detailed in black on grey paper, that concluded the Getting Weird brief, I quite like the experimentation of the neon green pencil on grey paper. The neon green and the grey of the paper prompted me to think about how I could develop and update the concept of botanical illustration to fit the contemporary world.

Carnovsky’s RGB exhibition¬†cleverly plays with colour layering red, green and blue but allowing you to block out colour with a filter revealing each layer separately. What stands out to me particularly is the type of images drawn. They’re often of animals that appear to be within foliage; the bright almost neon like colours are so eye-catching and makes me think of how bright things are in the urban world. Not all greys.

It would be interesting to play with colour to represent my drawings of weeds in a fun way and contemporary way (as I have begun to experiment with, pictured below). However as Carnovsky’s RGB exhibition is presented in walls, it would thus be interesting to play with my drawings using a range of media but thinking about the form of a poster as oppose to the zine layout I’ve been working with.

Playing with inks and experimenting with colour

Playing with inks and experimenting with colour

Featured image: http://www.carnovsky.com/RGB.htm

Leave a Reply

