Lino Printing for My Edition

Development, Local Universe, Projects, Sketchbook, Visual Research

Following my experimentation with drawing the plants and weeds in ink, varying the thickness of line and colour, I thought my drawings would translate well into the medium of print. Specifically Lino Print.

This process involves cutting away at the surface of lino with a sharp lino tool – the same way rubber stamps are carved to be made. I personally really enjoy the use of lino because of the way it makes me think about the balance of positive and negative space to get a good print but also as I would like to make more than one edition, I see this method as being a simple, cost-effective way to reproduce my artwork.

Cutting lino based on my drawings of the plants and weeds I observed in the Local Universe

Cutting lino based on my drawings of the plants and weeds I observed in the Local Universe

I thought i would initially test cutting one of my drawings to see if the process was suitable for the contemporary look I was trying to achieve with my edition as well as still maintaining as much of the detail of the plants as I could, still drawing on the element of traditional botanical illustration.

Test printing and repeat pattern

Test printing and repeat pattern

Despite how effective the prints of the plants are and how contemporary they look as opposed to relating to conventional botanical illustrations, I need to remember that these plants were found on the street therefore the prints need to have some element that ties them back to the environment in which they were found. I have thus experimented with printing bricks and layering, creating a foreground and background. The layered idea works well but I think it would be more going through with the pop-up book format and separating the two layers.

Scribbling ideas for fold out lino print edition

Scribbling ideas for fold out lino print edition

Testing… #Linocut #Brickwork #Botanical #Illustration #Editions

A post shared by Reanne Alicia (@relicia_) on

Using test print to experiment with composition and see how a fold out/pop up book would work

Using test print to experiment with composition and see how a fold out/pop up book would work

One thought on “Lino Printing for My Edition

Leave a Reply

