Duke Of Uke development

Creative Industry Practice, Development, Visual Research

For as long as I’ve had this brief, and researched Duke of Uke, the history of the ukulele, and music I’ve had no clue where to start… until now! I had so many ideas and no ideas all at the same time and realised I had primarily fixated heavily on what I wanted the final outcome to be (visuals for the Duke of Uke instagram) rather than thinking about the idea itself first and foremost, since it is much easier to then apply and adapt an idea to any outcome once you have it.

I went back to the notes I wrote down at the initial briefing in order to pick out something that really stood out to me. This happened to be the mention of Duke of Uke somewhat being like a Victorian curiosity shop when it first opened, ukuleles from all over the world. I began thinking about then about the research I did on the history of the ukulele and how it originated in Portugal and was introduced to Hawaii by immigrants but also how the popularity of the music boomed at first in America and then the rest of the world. Grouping all of these things together made me realise TRAVEL was a key theme of the Duke of Uke, even more so in the way the the shop itself relocated from Hanbury Street to Cheshire Street.

Looking at pr-exisiting things within the Duke of Uke branding and what I can use to inform my design ideas

Looking at pre-exisiting things within the Duke of Uke branding and what I can use to inform my design ideas

Exploring existing typefaces

Exploring existing typefaces

Thinking about the things that relate to the theme of travel, I soon settled on stamps and thought it would be interesting to make a set of stamps that celebrate the 10th anniversary of the shop but also link to the many different elements of the original branding and things I saw in-store but also the general themes surrounding the history of the ukulele but also remembering that the Victorian curiosity part is important. To really capture the vintage 1930’s style of what I wanted my stamp designs to look like, I decided to look to old vintage sheet music covers as well as old vintage stamps to help me think about composition.

[stamp pictures & sheet music]

My collection of stamps that I bought in an auction and used to help inspire composition and style of what stamp designs are like. They come from many different places.

My collection of stamps that I bought in an auction and used to help inspire composition and style of what stamp designs are like. They come from many different places.

IMG_0783

A few examples from my sheet music cover collection that I used to help me understand vintage graphic style.

stamp 1

Stamp Idea 1

stamp 2

Stamp Idea 2

As successful as I think these stamp ideas are in communicating and relating back to the Duke of Uke shop, the physical hand drawn illustrations are more effective than the versions of them scanned in. I feel as though, as much as I love this idea and believe it works well, in terms of implementing as instagram visuals, I feel as though a huge element of the illustration is lost visually when in digital form thus maybe the concept would work better in a shop window display but I need to think of the best way to implement this adequately, remembering the purpose of the design and the brief.

 

 

 

One thought on “Duke Of Uke development

Leave a Reply

