Wild Life Drawing: Botanical Drawing Class

Visits, Visual Research, Workshops

Yesterday I went to the Wild Life Drawing, botanical drawing class and it was so much fun! Not only did I get to learn so much about the different types of plants we were drawing, but I also learnt about the history and function of terrariums and the types of plants that work best in them (making me now want to make/buy my own!). Terrariums are like miniature ecosystems that live within a glass vessel with a small amount of water that circulates, thus keeping the plants within alive. Emma from London Terrariums told us how terrariums were historically developed by botanist Nathaniel Bagshaw Ward in the mid 1800’s and they pioneered the movement of tropical plants from one country to another – where prior to that they would not survive long journeys, or were pressed to be recorded from. Where plants are a major passion of mine and I enjoy drawing them in many different ways, I decided to go to this class to learn more about them as well as practice drawing in a different environment.

Below are some of the pictures I managed to capture in between drawings of the stunning display curated by London Terrariums:

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

The drawing process of the class couldn’t have been any more relaxing, getting to draw at your own pace, with your own choice of mediums. I always like to get the most out of a drawing class so I chose to draw fast using a range of materials whereas others chose to spend longer on one piece. My drawings from the class (see below) are unlike my usual drawing style due to the fast and bold manner whereby they were made. I hope Wildlife drawing have another botanical drawing class but in the meantime, I might try and get to Kew Gardens or even a London Terrariums workshop.

2 thoughts on “Wild Life Drawing: Botanical Drawing Class

Leave a Reply

