Refining My Idea: Dreams and Obsessions

Creative Industry Practice, Development, Projects, Sketchbook, Visual Research

After watching Vanilla Sky I felt that I lacked direction with this Beyond Limits brief so I decided to do a more detailed investigation into dreams as a subject. I found out various different avenues some of which explained that dreams are a window into our subconscious – whereby our minds produce a series of thoughts, images and sensations within the mind. In my research, I came to realise that dreams are very abstract both in terms of content, from person to person, but also in terms of the many theories that explain why and how we dream.However, My favourite theory on dreams was one put forward by psychoanalyst Sigmund Freud, who explained that dreams are manifestations of our deepest desires and anxieties that often relate to repressed childhood memories or obsessions. This got me thinking.

The word obsession really stood out to me as a possible way of demonstrating dreams to people outside of the mind in a more tangible form. I thought to possibly using my own obsession of natural forms to create a new realm as such that represents an imaginary landscape much like those we dream. I came to this decision also as it is impractical to try and draw my own dreams literally so I believe this is an adequate solution.

Visual Research

Before drawing anything, I thought to look at some of my favourite artists in order to help me think about how to construct my favourite natural dream realms. One of these is Max Ernst who his renown for his imaginary landscapes.

ln2012_282_127_beyeler_2011_940_0

the-entire-city

the-eye-of-silence-1943

I really like the depth of nature he captures in his paintings, it makes you feel as though you are being sucked into the world itself as you look deeper and deeper. In a way this reminds me of when I personally sleep deeply and the dream feels realistic.

Similarly, I thought to look at the work of Henri Rousseau who painted natural landscapes like Ernst but in a style that reminds me of illustrations in a children’s book. Mostly due to the inclusion of animals. This is important as illustrations in books are meant to transport you to another world, and even though Rousseau’s illustrations do not accompany any text, the have a magical depth that does this.

e886e6d432b951af4d918e52302a28c8

Henri_Rousseau_-_Il_sogno

 

 

Leave a Reply

