The Shadows

Creative Industry Practice, Projects, Visits, Visual Research, Walks

Searching For The Beautifully Mundane

Brief and Initial Thoughts

First reading this brief was basically my idea of a nightmare as I find photography a bit of challenge due to my lack of engagement with it but I decided to do my best and try to look for:

A moment that can be captured that depicts a narrative or can be a reference for research, as artwork by itself.

Working with my fellow student Maria meant that I allowed myself to go outside of my comfort zone and be in an area not of interest to me where I couldn’t easily pick constrasts and opposites within the environment. The area we chose to be in was Liverpool Street station.

Documenting The Environment

I wasn’t sure what I was looking for and found myself thinking too hard. Instead I opted to just click my camera shutter and hope I noticed myself documenting something worthwhile. Luckily for me I was very observant. This is what I documented in a series of over 150 photographs:

Having compiled all my images together as a piece of moving image, I realised how mundane what I captured was, simply an average day in London full of tourists, passer bys, and commuters. It wasn’t until I looked at the images separately (below) in close detail to observe the things that made them interesting and stand out. The one element that struck me the most was how bold shadows were of the commuters. Now although the project is named ‘The Shadows’ one would think the aim was not to literally look for shadows but in the case of my documentation, these happen to be really strong.

The shadows emerge from the robotic passer bys almost as if they are an additional life form, whimsical and full of life, something the humans lack.

I feel like I could potentially pick the strongest shadow photographs to print on a much larger scale as the images are bold, but I could play with the shadows and bring them out. Whether that means working with collage and cut out to make the shadows more whimsical and showcase those rather than the people they belong to or just painting and drawing back into the photographs.

Leave a Reply

