Sister Arrow: Bright, Bold and Colourful

Development, Local Universe, Projects, Sketchbook, Visual Research

When drawing my small nature spaces outside their windows, and testing drawing styles and techniques as well as colour application

, I realised not using local colours was more effective as they were somewhat more exciting and intriguing using abstract colours. 

Sister Arrow’s terrarium illustrations made me think about how I can use many or limited colours selectively. Most probably because her illustrations are risograph prints which probably contributes to the choice of colour and how it is used. I also really like her simple but intense recording of detail which very much reminds me of how I’ve been recording my window boxes. 


 

All illustrations in this post belong to Sister Arrow and were sourced from: http://www.sisterarrow.com/index.html 

Leave a Reply

