Emily Sutton: Illustrative Simplicity

Local Universe, Sketchbook, Visual Research

Emily Sutton is an illustrator i’m familiar with having come across her work before at the V&A a few years ago, but after refreshing my mind on what her work is like, I realised I liked the way she records what she sees with simplicity and in a sense just appears to draw with her brush and watercolour.

This way of drawing is something I realised I’ve been experimenting with, allowing me to put certain amounts of detail into my work without being too precious and taking too much time editing the way I draw.Much like my illustrations of the hanging window basket below that I’ve done using a brush and ink/watercolour:

RAB0797_140.97.225.50_2016-05-05_15.12.06.318_Page_10RAB0797_140.97.225.50_2016-05-05_15.12.06.318_Page_12

This is a technique I will continue to develop because I feel it’ll be useful drawing out in public spaces where I have a short time to draw or maybe even in life drawing classes, something I stuggled with when I previously tried.

 

Leave a Reply

