Sketchbook Zine

Author, Author: Reporter, Development, Final Outcome, Projects, Sketchbook, Visual Research

Turning My Sketches Into a Process Book

As I decided that I wanted to make a publication to fulfil the process book/film element, I thought it best to a good idea to create a reflection of my visual exploration throughout the brief by representing my sketches and creating a zine that is an extension or compilation from my sketchbook.

31922404096_78b2dc7e85_k_d

Zine Inspiration

When I thought about the concept of a sketchbook zine, I instantly thought of Daniel Jamie Williams’ sketchbook drawings and how he uses these to put together zines. I’ve never really thought about how sketches can come together as a publication and the fact that he fills the page with small drawings makes looking through it feels as though you’re physically looking through his sketchbook.

tumblr_odjwkpmszp1ryqjr1o5_1280

Daniel Jamie Williams’ Zine (Source: http://wishwelliams.co.uk/tagged/illustration/page/2)

tumblr_odjwkpmszp1ryqjr1o4_1280

Daniel Jamie Williams’ Zine (Source: http://wishwelliams.co.uk/tagged/illustration/page/2)

 

Publication Development

Going through my sketches for selection comprised mostly of drawings taken from my mark making experiments. I really wanted to showcase these illustrations as the foundations of the new Southampton I have created. After placing them on designated pages using InDesign, I thought to begin experimenting with printing and also the particular kind of text I wanted to use, if any.

31178046403_2fad06398c_k_d

Thinking about the overall narrative of my zine. I planned to use my drawings to show the construction of my newfound Southampton city, emerging from nature and then being recaptured by it, much like the descriptions of Netley Abbey in Spike Island.

 

31869423441_8ed99e794b_b_d

I made sure to set up the document as A4 so ultimately what I would produce was an A5 zine which is the size of Daniel Jamie Williams’ zines. Also based on budget reasons, I was aware that I may only be able to afford to print this zine at home on my inkjet printer.

 

31838222272_6874e69539_b_d

Using InDesign made putting together the publication a lot easier due to being able to rearrange pages and create grids, guides and master pages which help speed up the process

At this moment, I hadn’t decided on paper stock so seeing how the document printed beforehand on printer paper was helpful so that when I did decide, I wouldn’t have to worry about messing up expensive paper. Which was just as well because I printed about 20 trials, all of which went wrong; pages printed in the wrong order, some upside down because of the error I made with my printer and having it not flip on the short edge.

31842705301_0e6fd1ad63_k_d

Considering whether to add text using dummy text as a placeholder. I decided that much like the example by Daniel Jamie Williams, my zine is to be a reflection of my sketchbook thus no text is to be included apart from the title on the cover and information on the back cover which helps contextualise the zine within the Southampton project

 

31119284304_7cc1b42ffe_k_d

Trial Prints of zine

 

Final Outcome

After my experimentation, I chose to make some final decisions in order to print a final publication. Riso printing enhances pencil drawings and would work well with my sketchbook zine concept but being aware of my own budget, I decided I would print using my inkjet.

I was aware of how rubbish inkjet printing can look but then remembered my visit to Shepherd’s, a paper and binding shop, where a range of paper stock is sold – for inkjet as well as other digital printing. The paper I ended up choosing there was flower paper, which was slightly textured (reminding me of the paper in my sketchbook) and had flower petals in it. My reasons for choosing this paper were to enhance the underlying narrative of Southampton, emerging from nature and then being recaptured by it, much like that of Netley Abbey in Spike Island.

 

31585771020_5e2834c174_k_d

Printing on flower textured paper using my inkjet printer

 

 

31842704611_855b4dc4d9_k_d

Printing on flower textured paper with my inkjet printer

 

31119285254_62b5d2fe4e_k_d

My nature end pages that tie the zine together, emerging from nature and then being recaptured by it

 

 

Because of how I printed my zine, I decided that to bind my zine as simply as possible using the saddle stitch method (below).

I called the zine “This Is Non-Place” making direct reference to the abstract quote by Owen Hatherly in New Ruins which sparked the creation of the new city I made. I couldn’t commit to what should be on the front cover so I just decided to keep it plain as well as the back cover. I took an abstract ink drawing I did and printed that onto some tracing paper to wrap around the cover. Although I do think I need to reprint the publication, bind with stronger thread and thicker tracing paper for the cover or at least have an acetate layer to protect it from being damaged.

 

31119285384_02a042451c_k_d

Final Zine

 

 

Leave a Reply

