Pattern Making

Author: Reporter, Development, Projects, Reporter, Sketchbook, Visual Research, Workshops

Lino Print Workshop

After initial derives at both Liverpool Street Station and Brick Lane, we were encouraged within the studio to push the observational drawings into another medium- specifically lino print. As we’re given the workshop information prior to it taking place, and having done lino printing before, I made sure that  had some drawings that had bold, thick lines that would translate well for this particular method.

32622650401_e05d470aa0_k_d

Lino Printing

I found the lino printing workshop to be a little tedious because i’ve done a lot of it in the past and found that the large group of students having the introduction made it difficult to use the facilities all at once, so I opted for working on  my own in the studio space. I did however find the introduction to the printing press intriguing as sometime I like to work at a much bigger scale.

32577567292_52e9c0f6c4_k_d

Introduction to the press

Using soft cut lino meant it was really quick and easy to cut my design out which was a lamp I saw on my visit to This Shop Rocks on Brick Lane. I chose this because I had drawn my initial sketch with a brush pen which meant I had bold thick lines which work well for this particular type of print.

31932060753_9eff79a784_k_d

Brush pen sketches

32622648121_579fb7a033_k_d

Brush pen sketches

I referred back to the brief after printing my lino and realised that having one singular object doesn’t really reflect the crowded and excessive experience of the shop’s interior, thus not even fulfilling the brief. I decided it would perhaps be more appropriate to print more than one object. Also, due to the fact that lino printing, if cut well gives you a really clean print, I felt it didn’t reflect the old historical, lost objects in the shop and decided I should try a more suitable method of printing.

32705381646_b3d7ed539d_k_d

Lino print of single object

Mono printing

I decided to experiment with monoprint as a technique which is a one off printing technique that allows you to only pull off a maximum of two prints. I’m aware of the grainy effect that is  achieved by monoprint that reminds me of old photographs thus thought would make the objects look old.

32366272350_94f13e2f83_k_d

Monoprint using black ink

32690723416_cfc1f73067_k_d

Monoprint using blue ink

31917425083_d59f4fbc93_k_d

Monoprint in red ink

32607769821_64200af2c8_k_d

Monoprint in red ink

32690724766_f796b1b540_k_d

Negative ghostly monoprint

Seeing how I monoprinted more than one object per page, felt like I was starting to capture the essence of the second hand shop with the various packed boxes and stacks of things. I was reminded of the work of Lisa Milroy’s paintings of collections of objects with compositions that are orderly and sometimes functional. It made me think about using the objects and observations to create collections or patterns even of the objects to highlight the excessive number of old items there are in the shop.

lightbulb-lisa-milroy

Lightbulbs by Lisa Milroy (Source: http://the-artists.org/artist/lisa-milroy)

 

Pattern printing

In order to have a pattern, an image needs to be repeated and that’s not necessarily a possibility with monoprinting so I decided to have another go at lino printing my objects but trying a slightly different technique. I came across the idea of creating a tessellation which would allow my print to be repeated and fit together like pieces of a puzzle.

 

masterman-2012-tiffany-tie-tessellation-tutorial

Tessellation method I used to create my pattern prints (Source: http://www.tessellations.org/tessellation-art-school14-14.shtml)

32731106865_56db9d2721_k_d

Lino Tessellation 1

32577803792_6903dae3e8_k_d

Lino Tessellation 2

 

Repetition seemed like an effective way to  highlight the excessive nature of objects in the shop although I think I need to work on careful placement of the lino when repeating the tessellating print but perhaps having less clunky lines, more black space and finer details to add to the depth and intricacy of the print.

One thought on “Pattern Making

Leave a Reply

