Riso At Hato 

Development, Final Major Project, Projects, Visits, Visual Research, Workshops

My Experience at a Hato Press Workshop

I love having access to the Riso printer for the sake of current projects but at uni, colours are limited. So I took it upon myself to book a two colour Riso print workshop at Hato Press where I had access to print with a range of colours, including fluorescent ones, as opposed to the limitation of five.

32970058225_52475393fd_k_d

 

Introduction to The Space

Upon arrival, everyone involved in the workshop was given an introduction to Hato Press and the workspace which included 5 Riso printers, which unlike the one at uni, allow you to print two colours at once which I must admit, would make life so much easier because you make two masters at once, rather having to make each master separately.

32589233890_c0a808e3ba_k_d

Range of riso inks displayed on pegboard walls.

32155431193_4d10a3db55_k_d

Riso machines have particular colours in them for organisation purposes of the space.

32589228960_8106222d2d_k_d

Two colour drums that go into the riso printer

32970069965_235e6cfe0e_k_d

Inside the print space, with test prints on the walls as well as binding facilities

32589233030_d74b051176_k_d

Riso print outs on the walls of the printing space

 

Test Print

As the workshop aims to introduce those who are unfamiliar with riso printing, we were given the opportunity to collaborate with those we were sitting at a table with to test different types of mark making and collage to give us an idea as to how these marks translate through the riso before working on our own pieces.

33068274236_48cff46835_k_d

Using a variety of mediums that were supplied, both groups per table created test sheets that were to be layered when riso printed

32815792292_b646779ba5_k_d

Final test print using fluro pink and blue

 

Working On My Riso Print

As I’ve done a lot of drawing and have kept a sketchbook whilst visiting locations for inspiration towards my final major project, I decided to work from composition ideas I had in there rather than doing something completely uninformed and random that I may not be pleased with. The advantage I felt I had in this workshop was having used a riso before so I knew what to expect and how to work. I therefore kept it simple and created both of my tracing paper layers using brush and ink or my brush pen, experimenting with charcoal in unnoticeable places.

32815797472_457b27fbb9_k_d

Working on my tracing paper layer with the most detail that I knew I would want to print blue

32929199696_1e0acd3e1e_k_d

Working on the second layer (left) which I knew would be printed in fluro pink

32845322001_b69fa4bd5c_k_d

a range of marks and shapes

32815783622_682e05152f_k_d

My final two colour riso outcome

 

Overall Workshop Impressions

At the end of the workshop, I was definitely pleased with going home with not just my final 10 prints but the test prints too and I think for the cost of the workshop, it is more than worth it to get access to the Hato Press space and learn about how riso printers work. I also felt as though I would be more confident in using the riso printer at uni a lot more simply with rapid generation of work such as this A3 print I produced in the short space of 2hrs and a half.

32815820002_b9cdaf9d6f_k_d

Hato Press colour charts

 

 

 

Note: All images taken by myself during the workshop.

 

One thought on “Riso At Hato 

Leave a Reply

