Lost Histories

Author: Reporter, Development, Projects, Reporter, Shop Visits, Sketchbook, Visual Research, Walks

Reflecting and Refining my Idea

Looking back at my lino prints, despite having come up with a concept of a continuous print that reflects the continuous view of objects within the second hand shop, I felt a disconnection between what I had printed and what the objectives of the brief are- to explore the relationship between location and experience. Thus I decided it appropriate to go back and do another derive at my chosen location.

32296274380_799fa3031b_k_d

Another Derive

I walked into ‘This Shop Rocks’ yet again and tried to explore the shop as a whole as oppose to focusing on the individual objects I have done in order to produce my lino prints. The excessive number of objects in such a small space made me realise that it’s impossible to focus on and process each individual object in a glance which is what I felt I was doing. Also in presenting each objects as I did, I removed them from their location thus losing their context when I really needed to capture the environment.

32675323485_b44db3141f_k_d

31832441604_14fc57b1f2_k_d

So after my visit, I gave myself a  chance to free write and just jot down what I could remember of my experience as a way to help direct my focus and came up with a paragraph:

“Pile upon pile, box upon box stacked high to the ceiling lit by 100 warm yellow beams shining from 100 brightly coloured lamps. Dusty colours and shining silver framed ornate mirrors glisten with glimmers of light as my eyes get lost in the sea of old stories, to the ticking of the aged clock”.

It was this that prompted the need to investigate the concept of collecting and cabinets of curiosity as well as delving deeper into the theme of nostalgia, ensuring that’s what my outcomes say about my experience.

Collections

Looking at Cabinets of curiosity helped me understand the way in which small collections of objects were used to tell stories about the natural world. I definitely see the accumulation and cluttered nature of the aged objects and interior of the shop being reminiscent of this. The collection of objects detail and describe an aesthetic quite popular down Brick Lane.

Referring back to my lino prints, I felt it was a misguided representation of a collection so I researched collectors such as assemblage artist Joseph cornell and painters of collections such as Lisa Milroy, Wayne Thiebaud and Audrey Flack. The one thing I noticed about their work is that they’ve thought about what it is they want to say with their portrayal of these objects- e.g. Thiebaud painted with heavy pigments, exaggerated colours and defined shadows to depict his subjects with the characteristics of adverts in the 50s and 60s.

cornell-hotel-eden

Joseph Cornell’s boxed assemblage (credit: https://www.ibiblio.org/wm/paint/auth/cornell/)

lightbulb-lisa-milroy

Lightbulbs by Lisa Milroy (Source: http://the-artists.org/artist/lisa-milroy)

Further Development into Final Outcomes

With this research in mind, I started to think about the message I’m trying to get across in my portrayal of the shop in my outcomes and also drew on my abstract free writing of my experience to conclude that I have two different experiences in the shop. Either immersing myself with the piles and shelves or looking closely at things, so I feel as though my outcomes should reflect these perspectives in an extreme way because that way they’ll be connected to the location and maintain their context.

Note: all uncaptioned images are authors images.

3 thoughts on “Lost Histories

  1. There are some really interesting developments in your approach to the project here. It is clear that you have reached a transitional stage and revisiting the location can be so helpful. You have disitilled the sensory experience of the location rather evocatively in your writing where there is some mention of all the senses- except perhaps smell . The “sea of old stories” is a good point of entry to the location and subsequent boxed set.

    Like

Leave a Reply

