Hand Type

Author: Reporter, Development, Projects, Reporter, Sketchbook, Visual Research

Experimenting with Handwritten Text

Reviewing my work on the second hand shop, I realised that the small descriptive paragraph I had written might in fact be the context I need to present (with or without my object prints) in order to really express my experience and after finding those old postcards, I started experimenting with my own handwritten memories of my derive in the second hand shop.

32634999384_5f10bcadc1_k_d

I wrote out a number of different paragraphs and words initially so I had material to work with an manipulate, in the same way one would work from photographs or on location when drawing observationally. I knew I didn’t want to try and replicate the type written on the found postcards because not only would it be incredibly time consuming but I was worried that in doing so, I would lose the authenticity and rawness of my handwriting which is something I felt the postcards had, even thought they were beautifully written. I feel like that rawness reflects the hastiness of the act of writing in the moment which is what I was keen to capture. I also experimented with writing in a number of different tools; pencils to pens, different colours to different thicknesses.

33478192155_019c6480ed_k_d

 

With block text and individual words written out, I knew I had to push these further than just using handwritten text because on its own it’s not communicating anything much about my experience in the second hand shop. So I decided to approach typography in this instance, as an image, and went forward with distorting the handwritten text simply using the photocopier. I found this technique to be amazing at warping my type almost accentuation the dramatic strokes and ligatures seen in the type written on the postcards  I found.

The distorted type makes reference to the hazy way in which we recall memories thus is very relevant in relaying my memories of the second hand shop in written form. It also draws on this idea of the distorted history we are presented in the second hand shop, we see old objects but have no sense of previous ownership or history, they’re just empty. But presented amongst the many other glorious relics in the shop, lit by the glow of the many lamps, we are duped into the vintage essence portrayed and in fact buy into the emptiness by making a purchase.

33350038631_4317756232_k_d

33322182202_7198435aa7_k_d

33161270630_a1c6bed05d_k_d

33350022811_54057d962b_k_d

33094780120_e4d7c0e432_k_d

 

One thought on “Hand Type

Leave a Reply

