Final Boxset

Author: Reporter, Final Outcome, Projects, Reporter, Visual Research

Mini-prints and Boxes

After deciding my typographic experiments weren’t going to work in the form of a publication, despite being contained within the frame of the pages, I began thinking about how such a small shop contained so many objects. This made me think back to the first ever derive in the second hand shop and the souvenirs I picked up that could be used to help me pull the project together as a final piece.

33817220075_f95b04853a_k_d

 

Boxes

On my first trip to the second hand shop, I bought two boxes. One of which was the Ludo box pictured above, which was filled with lots of game pieces. This encouraged me to think about how to maybe fill a box with all of my test prints and experiments based on the shop. The relevance of using an item from the shop itself, as a container, is that it relates to the way you get lost amongst the objects as you encounter them in the shop. Thus disguising them in such an object means that they too are lost within the shop metaphorically. I imagine filling many different types of boxes within the shop, with lots of my prints about the shop, to be sold there – surprising many people.

33817217495_261a8fc0d7_k_d

Ludo box I bought that was full of game pieces

33817209805_b56d8ef33b_k_d

Old tobacco tin I bought from the second hand shop which I decided would house my final boxset collection

 

Paper Selection

In order to get my typographic experiments based on the shop to fit into the tobacco tin, that would contain them all, I knew I would have to downsize my prints. However I knew it would be appropriate to print onto different paper stock as a reflection of the many different textures encountered within he shop.

So I visited Shepherds in order to go through paper suitable for digital/inkjet printing. I mostly selected paper types that reminded me of anything aged or delicate to evoke memories of my experience of the shop and all the old things in it but also how delicate a lot of the objects were and how careful you had to be not to knock anything over. Thus I selected a range of paper from tracing paper (which made me think of the idea of seeing through layers and how faded memories appear), to bible paper (which was delicate and fragile) and even sugar paper which was slightly rough and textured.

33003939113_8fd2aac52b_k_d

Sample book of paper in Shepherds

32974023204_56aebbf08b_k_d

Flicking through the samples to find the most appropriate paper to use

33776447836_f5e67f7d49_k_d

Feeling the paper’s texture and weight to see if it fit the criteria I had in mind for my boxset

Scaling down prints

Once I had selected paper I scaled down my prints to a contact size so that they would fit into the tobacco tin and then proceeded to print my images out onto the paper I had bought. I decided to use my inkjet to print onto because given my small budget and the time frame I had to complete this project, it was the most viable option I had to put my prints through. Also using my printer at home would allow me to change paper stock as and when I needed to.

34152918901_0464ad8d3a_k_d

Mini-prints of all my experimentation of the second hand shop, printed onto different paper

33817188915_ceededf0cf_k_d

Scale of the prints compared to a pencil

 

Final boxset

After cutting my final prints and assembling them within the box, I decided to fold up other test prints of drawings I did as well as including a USB with footage of the ticking clock (below) within the shop of old objects, signifying the passing of time. I felt as though the compilation of all of these objects made it feel as though the small tin contained this glorious collection of curiosities which is overall how I saw the shop after my first visit; a shop of wondrous stories bound to the many beautiful objects.

Leave a Reply

