Memory Film

Author: Reporter, Final Outcome, Projects, Reporter, Visual Research

Turning my Research into a Piece of Moving Image

Having finished my boxset of mini-prints, I realised I had only really used material created by myself, thus didn’t include any of my initial research photography and film. I then thought about whether I could create a piece of film that is a montage of the visuals I collected that I could play out as if it were a manifestation of my memory of the second hand shop- almost drawing on the effect of the earlier tracing paper layered experiments.

33003951903_8e7919bebe_k_d

Inspiration

I came across ‘London Orbital’, a film created by Christopher Petit, based on the book by Iain Sinclair, which illustrates “a mediation on the difference between driving and walking… capturing the peculiar hallucinatory state that driving provokes”. I was drawn to this film, in reference to my experience of the second-hand shop, because of the very eerie pieces of footage used that have been edited in a way where they fade in and out of each other. It made me think about how we often remember past events, in fragments, which was helpful in encouraging me to think about how to stitch together parts of the experience in the shop that I captured.

 

Film development

Using Premiere Pro, I simply chose some of the film footage I had taken in the shop as well as some of the photographs of the handwritten postcards to overlay over the video footage and I made them fade in and out of each other adding transitions (cross dissolve) and also changing the transparency of images. I felt this added a ghostliness to the piece, making me think of old photographs or letters that have faded over time – emphasizing the sense of nostalgia.

34303602885_3ed2c3a15a_b_d

34303603785_bccde2d40f_b_d

33919497500_d936c0b930_b_d

 

Final film

I felt that everything was pulled together nicely in my final moving image outcome in the way that the handwritten postcard text was overlaid over the film footage, making it feel like a memory, being somewhat evocative of London Orbital. The highlight of the piece however, is the ticking of the clock head in the shop that runs throughout the piece, making it feel as though time is passing whilst experiencing a place full of histories.

33922980480_2c9429f634_b_d

34266527576_c450ded34a_b_d

Leave a Reply

