Colourful Mockups

D&AD, Design Competition, Development, Visual Research

Fleshing Out My Composition with Adobe Comp for iPad Pro

Having selected my idea, I scanned selected sketchbook spreads, picking pages that had a likeness in illustrations so that my posters would have some continuity and the narrative across the three would be evident. I then proceeded to mock up my ideas using Adobe Comp on my iPad Pro (see below), so that anything I design that I thought worked well in terms of composition, could be directly sent to InDesign, in order to be set properly with grids, layers, and kerning and tracking.

I really enjoyed using this app at the early stages of my poster development because it allowed me to play around with placement of my images in conjunction with text, using typefaces saved from Typekit, as well as experimenting with how I imagine the text looking with the poster image behind it.

34523206666_4a6303010b_k_d

34523208276_95056bd340_k_d

34178585110_9cef69de94_k_d

33721508594_46cc9ae12d_h_d

Leave a Reply

